Garage Sale Finds

I spent the early mornings of the weekend at garage sales hunting books. Books are a serious obsession for me- I ask for books for every birthday and Christmas every year that I can remember. The most memorable birthday for me was when my parents had exactly one present for me: a BOX of books- at least a hundred it seemed to me! I remember specifically Mr. Popper’s Penguins, a few Boxcar Children books, and the beginnings of the Mandie series by Lois Gladys Leppard (there weren’t many yet- I remember waiting for them as they all came out.)

 

A friend called me Wednesday night to tell me about a sale she’d seen advertised that was being given by a retiring first grade teacher. Oh, the treasure I picked up there! Most every book was in excellent condition or better; several looked as though they’d only been handled once or twice. 

 

A few new alphabet books (an additional copy of Chicka Chicka Boom Boom for us since ours has some pretty significant wear and tear) and some Magic School Bus books:

 

Several Classic Titles:

 

Math, Mazes and I Spy:

 

Science and Dr. Seuss:

 

 

And last, a stack of “Kindergarten journals” (large lined pages, many with just one line at the bottom and a big open space at the top of the page for the student to draw a picture), some cool wooden cars, a scale, another dominoes set (because Ender always seems to need more dominoes) and Jingle Bugs. I love those bug books!

 

The paperbacks were .50 a piece and the hardcovers were $1 each so I think I did pretty well. The boys have already been into the box looking through all the new books and the scale has seen A LOT of use since we picked it up last Thursday, weighing everything from crackers to dominoes to train tracks.

This entry was posted in Eclectic Home Education, Home Education and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

